Device Guides

Apple iPhone 3GS

Change device Change device

How to

Restoring factory default settings on my mobile phone

Want to restore the factory default settings on your mobile phone? It's easy, but please note: all data on your mobile phone will be deleted. Data on your SIM isn't deleted.


List view

1. Find "Reset"

Tap Settings.
Tap General.
Tap Reset.

2. Choose option

Choose one of the following options:
Restore settings only, go to 2a.
Restore settings and data, go to 2b.
Apple iPhone 3GS

3. 2a - Restore settings only

Tap Reset All Settings.
If you select Reset All Settings, all mobile phone settings are restored but contacts, audio files, video clips, appointments, etc. aren't affected.
Tap Reset All Settings.
If you select Reset All Settings, all mobile phone settings are restored but contacts, audio files, video clips, appointments, etc. aren't affected.
Tap Reset All Settings.
Your mobile phone restarts.
If you select Reset All Settings, all mobile phone settings are restored but contacts, audio files, video clips, appointments, etc. aren't affected.
Drag the arrow right.
If you select Reset All Settings, all mobile phone settings are restored but contacts, audio files, video clips, appointments, etc. aren't affected.
If required, tap Unlock.
If you select Reset All Settings, all mobile phone settings are restored but contacts, audio files, video clips, appointments, etc. aren't affected.
If required, key in your PIN and tap OK.
If you select Reset All Settings, all mobile phone settings are restored but contacts, audio files, video clips, appointments, etc. aren't affected.

4. 2b - Restore settings and data

Tap Erase All Content and Settings.
If you select Erase All Content and Settings, settings, contacts, audio files, video clips, appointments, etc. are deleted.
Also, it may take several hours to restore the factory default settings in this way.
When you've restored settings and data, you need to activate your mobile phone again.
Tap Erase iPhone.
If you select Erase All Content and Settings, settings, contacts, audio files, video clips, appointments, etc. are deleted.
Also, it may take several hours to restore the factory default settings in this way.
When you've restored settings and data, you need to activate your mobile phone again.
Tap Erase iPhone to confirm.
If you select Erase All Content and Settings, settings, contacts, audio files, video clips, appointments, etc. are deleted.
Also, it may take several hours to restore the factory default settings in this way.
When you've restored settings and data, you need to activate your mobile phone again.
Email this guide

Would you like information for your {device-name}?

Would you like

Information for one of these devices?

No thanks